Aqua (Hommage à Jacques Yves-Cousteau) – Steve Heitzeg

Sold Out
Unit Price

Product Type: Digital Download

Format: Score

If you are interested in a part set for a performance please contact us.

Composer: Steve Heitzeg

Instrumentation: 2 (pic)-2-2-2/4-3-3-1/timp, 3 perc, hp/str

Duration: Approx. 7 minutes

Date Written: 1998

Commissioned by: Robert and Elizabeth Shepley

Premiered by: Virginia Symphony; Joann Falletta, conductor, Norfolk, Virginia on 01/30/1999

Additional Information: A tribute to explorer Jacques-Yves Cousteau and his life-long mission to preserve the oceans, Aqua unfolds in ten variations, offering an ever-transforming journey through the seas. Passages range from “Sea Horse Dances” to “Sea Dirge: Becoming Ocean.” 

Percussionists play an unusual mix of instruments: driftwood, coral, stones, nautical bells, steel pipes and plastic six-pack rings. Heitzeg calls Aqua “a protest against the destruction of the oceans and a celebration of their unfathomable beauty.”
Below: A pictures of composer Steve Heitzeg with Jacques Yves-Cousteau

Streaming Licenses

We allow free licensing to streaming platforms like YouTube and Facebook up to 5,000 views. At such point you exceed that, a license would be required. Other information can be found here!

Report a Performance

If you have an upcoming performance featuring the music of Steve Heitzeg – Let us know here!

Other questions?

We're always around to help. Just reach out to us through our Contact page.