Allemansrätten (Freedom to Roam) – Steve Heitzeg

Sold Out
Unit Price

Product Type: Digital Download

Format: Score and Parts

Composer: Steve Heitzeg

Instrumentation: String Quartet (2 Violin, Viola, and Cello)

Duration: Approx. 3 minutes

Date Written: 2021

Premiered: Young-Nam Kim, violin Leslie Shank, violin Sally Chisholm, viola Anthony Ross, cello Sundin Music Hall, Hamline University Saint Paul, MN October 17, 2021

Additional Information:  Allemansrätten is a Swedish word referring to “everyone’s rights”—a cherished concept and legal position in Sweden and other Nordic countries. Allemansrätten declares that every person has the right to access and roam through the countryside and wilderness. (These access rights are mainly intended for travel on foot.) With this right comes the responsibility to respect nature; there is the maxim “do not disturb, do not destroy” and people are obligated to not litter or harm or disturb wildlife. This short fanfare is inspired by the notion of “freedom in nature” and intended to evoke a kind of brightness, hopefulness and egalitarianism in its sound.

It is dedicated to the late Judy Dayton, one of the greatest champions of the arts our city has ever known. In my conversations with her, I always found Judy to be forward-looking and full of positive energy, and I’m grateful for the access to the arts that she has made possible for so many of us.

My sincerest thanks to Young-Nam Kim and Ariana Kim for commissioning this piece and to the musicians of the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota for their exceptional talents.

Steve Heitzeg September 22, 2021

Streaming Licenses

We allow free licensing to streaming platforms like YouTube and Facebook up to 5,000 views. At such point you exceed that, a license would be required. Other information can be found here!

Report a Performance

If you have an upcoming performance featuring the music of Steve Heitzeg – Let us know here!

Other questions?

We're always around to help. Just reach out to us through our Contact page.