Three Intermezzi - Paul Schoenfeld

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: Piano Solo

Composer: Paul Schoenfeld (formerly Paul Schoenfield)

Instrumentation: Solo piano

Duration: Approx. 17 minutes

Date Written: 2004

Commissioned by: The Schubert Club of St. Paul, Minnesota

Premiered by: Information Not Available

Additional Information: From program notes by Christina Dahl: "Schoenfeld has described his Three Intermezzi (for Piano Solo) as one of a very few works he has written simply to please himself. In his words, 'Here is music my hands feel like touching with sounds my ears enjoy perceiving.' Its three movements were written at different times, but coalesced into a single work. The Three Intermezzi explore an interior world devoid of anything ostentatious. Schoenfeld's signature counterpoint--echoing both Bach and Brahms--is evident throughout. The music is intimate, serene and contemplative. 'It's the sort of music I improvise at night with the lights out and the house empty,' he says. The first Intermezzo quotes a bit of a Bach prelude, then develops it in waves and spirals that course up and down the keyboard. The second Intermezzo emerges from a single repeated note into an oscillating minor third and finally into a dark and soulful Sicilienne. The third Intermezzo, as long as the other two combined, explores the boundaries where decidedly crafted music and mediation combine."

Streaming Licenses

We allow free licensing to streaming platforms like YouTube and Facebook up to 5,000 views. At such point you exceed that, a license would be required. Other information can be found here!

Report a Performance

If you have an upcoming performance featuring the music of Paul Schoenfeld – Let us know here!

Other questions?

We're always around to help. Just reach out to us through our Contact page.