Welcome All Wonders – Carol Barnett

Sold Out
Unit Price

Product Type: Digital Download

Format: SATB Score

Choral Scores require a minimum purchase of 5 copies

Composer: Carol Barnett

Text by: Richard Crashaw / Gerard Manley Hopkins

Instrumentation: SATB, treble choir, oboe

Duration: Approx. 4 minutes

Date Written:  1996

Composer’s note: With layered entrances by oboe, treble/children’s choir, and SATB, joy and welcome abound in this piece. A contemplative middle section provides a calming contrast to the unbridled joy of Christmas Day.

"Welcome all Wonders" was commissioned by the Racine Symphonic Chorus, James Schatzman, conductor, in celebration of its 10th Anniversary Season.

– Carol Barnett


Welcome all wonders in one sight!
Eternity shut in a span.
Summer in winter, day in night.
Heaven in earth, and God in man.
Great Little One, whose all-embracing birth
Lifts earth to heaven, stoops heaven to earth!
To Thee, meek Majesty! soft King
Of simple Graces and sweet Loves,
Each of us his Lamb will bring,
Each his pair of silver doves;
Till burnt at last in fire of Thy fair eyes,
Our selves become our own best sacrifice.
from “In the Holy Nativity of Our Lord God”
– Richard Crashaw (1613-1649)

Moonless Darkness Stands Between
Moonless darkness stands between,
Past, O past, no more be seen!
But the Bethlehem star may lead me
To the sight of Him who freed me
From the self that I have been.
Make me pure, Lord: Thou are holy;
Make me meek, Lord; Thou wert lowly;
Now beginning and alway;
Now begin, on Christmas day.
– Gerard Manley Hopkins (1844-1889)

Streaming Licenses

We allow free licensing to streaming platforms like YouTube and Facebook up to 5,000 views. At such point you exceed that, a license would be required. Other information can be found here!

Report a Performance

If you have an upcoming performance featuring the music of Carol Barnett – Let us know here!

Other questions?

We're always around to help. Just reach out to us through our Contact page.